Set in the beautiful Taff Bargoed Valley, also home to the Welsh International Climbing & Activity Centre, Parc Taf Bargoed is the hidden gem of Merthyr Tydfil County Borough. The park has facilities for all abilities and can be used for fishing, cycling, walking, horse riding and is easily accessed from the Celtic Trail, which runs through the site. At the start of the nineteenth century The Taff Bargoed Valley was home to a few scattered hill farms. By 1925 the population had risen to over 10,000, mostly miners attracted by the expansion of the coal. The mining industry into the valley as the British Empire demanded ever more coal, iron and steel. The coal mines have gone, the once black river is home for dippers and wagtails, the pit heaps that marred the skyline have been replaced with wooded hillsides. Climbers come from around the country to the Welsh International Climbing Centre located on the old site of the Taff Merthyr Colliery between Trelewis and Bedlinog. The centre has one of the largest indoor climbing walls in the country and offers all sorts of other sports and activities.